Juneau, AK (LifeNews.com) -- Alaska voters easily passed Measure 2, a ballot proposal to allow parents in the state the right to know when their teenage daughter is considering an abortion. The state will now have a law requiring abortion practitioners to notify a parent of a minor girl 48 hours before performing an abortion on her.
With 84 percent of the vote counted, 70,503 Alaskans voted for the measure while 56,354 voted against it. That had parental notification winning on a 55.5 to 44.4 percent margin.
Alaskans for Parental Rights spearheaded the effort while the ACLU joined Planned Parenthood in opposing it.
"I think that Alaskan parents are concerned. They want to be there for their girls and they want to be there even when the going gets tough," said Bernadette Wilson, campaign manager for Alaskans for Parental Rights, according to the Anchorage newspaper. "And I think we sent the message loud and clear that we want to care for these girls, even those girls who come from unhealthy home environments."
Charmaine Yoest, the president of Americans United for Life, applauded the result.
"The people of Alaska have made it clear that parents should have the fundamental right to be informed before their children make a life-changing decision to have an abortion," she told LifeNews.com this morning.
Alaska becomes the 37th state to require parental involvement before a minor can have an abortion. Full story